| View previous topic :: View next topic |
|
|
|
| Author |
Message |
PhilC
Site Admin

Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 13052
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Nicky_uk
Site Admin

Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 4319
Location: UK
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
PhilC
Site Admin

Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 13052
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Nicky_uk
Site Admin

Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 4319
Location: UK
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Janeth
Moderator

Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 3614
Location: Colombia
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
PhilC
Site Admin

Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 13052
|
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:09 pm
|
|
| Post subject: |
|
|
| It's not a test. We lost the posts in a technical glitch some months ago. I talked about it at SEW in the hope that GG would do something about it, and he did. But I didn't post the URL or name there. All the details were here. Even GG had to come here to get them. |
_________________ PhilC
Hidden Text
Search Engine Optimization articles and tools :: PageRank explained |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Nicky_uk
Site Admin

Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 4319
Location: UK
|
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 8:12 am
|
|
| Post subject: |
|
|
| I've tried looking and tracing and all sorts, and pretty much everywhere you've mentioned it Phil, you didn't mention the hosts name. The only other one I have found in a similar light is APlus.net. That's probably not it tho. |
_________________ Freelance SEO ~ Army Surplus Clothing |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
PhilC
Site Admin

Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 13052
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
PhilC
Site Admin

Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 13052
|
Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 1:57 pm
|
|
| Post subject: |
|
|
I've found it. It's "http://www.mdgcs.com/". AND THEY ARE STILL DOING IT!!!
If you search Google on 'outsidelinks4us.html', 1680 results are returned, most are Supplemental, but some are not. Look at the first 2 non-Supplemental results (#3 - caribinfo, and #6 - monticello) and notice the snippet. It's taken from the cache page. Click on the cache and see - it contains links to the hosts own sites. The date that they were spidered is 24th September 2005 - less than 2 weeks ago.
Then click on the listed link (Title) and you are redirected to the site's homepage.
The host's site is still banned by Google (grey TPR), so they aren't making any gains with Google, but I don't think that Yahoo! and MSN did anything about it, so there are still gains to be made.
For those who weren't here when this scam was uncovered, I'll explain it all in the next post. |
_________________ PhilC
Hidden Text
Search Engine Optimization articles and tools :: PageRank explained
Last edited by PhilC on Thu Oct 06, 2005 3:24 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
PhilC
Site Admin

Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 13052
|
Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:39 pm
|
|
| Post subject: |
|
|
In March of this year we uncovered a scam that was being perpetrated by a host on all of their hosting clients. The host is www.mdgcs.com and they were dynamically adding directories and pages to all of their clients' sites, and also dynamically adding links on their clients' existing pages. The clients couldn't see anything of it because it was all done dynamically, and nothing could be seen by FTP.
When a major search engine spider came along and requested any normal page from a client's site, the host would intercept the request and return the page with some links added. Here are captures of a typical example:-
The bottom of the page that people see:-
http://www.bradford.org.uk/mdgcs/powellmuseum_actual.jpg
The bottom of the page that the spiders were given, complete with additional links to the host's sites:-
http://www.bradford.org.uk/mdgcs/powellmuseum_cache.jpg
And here is the listing that appeared in Google's serps for the page:-
http://www.bradford.org.uk/mdgcs/powellmuseum_listing.jpg
That page was a normal part of the Powell Museum site, but for the search engines, additional links to the host's sites were added at the bottom. This was done by the host, and without the site owner's knowledge, and it was done for all hosted sites.
One of the added links on each of the pages was to a non-existant sub-directory and a non-existant page in the sub-directory. All requests for anything in those non-existant sub-directories were intercepted, and people were redirected to the client site's homepage, while spiders were given a links page. The links page contained links to the host's sites, of course. The caches that are currently showing in Google's serps are typical of those links pages. All of those "outsidelinks4us.html" pages look like that.
A dynamically created sub-directory name is "outsidelinks4uswelike". If you search Google for it, there 3410 results returned. Again most are Supplemental, but odd ones are not. In fact, that sub-directory name is at the top of a pyramid of subdirectories, and all are fed to spiders but not to people, and all are done without the site owners' knowledge. The first 2 results from that search were spidered very recently (25th September 2005), so that part of the scam is still operational as well.
At the time that the scam was uncovered here, I contacted one of the clients and the host got wind of it very quickly. He came here and admitted he'd done wrong, and he even put a prominent notice on his site to that effect, which also stated that he wouldn't do it any more. I managed to get the attention of GoogleGuy at SEW, and he saw to it that the host was penalised without hurting the innocent clients.
So I'm very surprised to find that the host is still perpetrating the same scam on his clients, as the Google search in the previous post shows.
I think it's time for some more action. |
_________________ PhilC
Hidden Text
Search Engine Optimization articles and tools :: PageRank explained |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Mel
Site Admin

Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 9060
|
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:25 am
|
|
| Post subject: |
|
|
| Yes I agree Phil, one expects that your host is working for you not against you. Calling Googleguy. |
_________________ Expert SEO Services - Buy Cheap Used Cars |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
PhilC
Site Admin

Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 13052
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Mel
Site Admin

Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 9060
|
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:29 am
|
|
| Post subject: |
|
|
| That was a low level hail though there is no reason one could not call Google and ask to speak to Matt Cutts say. |
_________________ Expert SEO Services - Buy Cheap Used Cars |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
PhilC
Site Admin

Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 13052
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
simonmc
Advanced Member
Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 232
|
Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:51 am
|
|
| Post subject: |
|
|
| PhilC wrote: |
| I'd wondered what would happen if someone did that. I imagine that calls wouldn't be put through. But it's easy enough to tell him something. Just post a comment in his blog and ask him to delete instead of clearing it. |
You would be suprised. I phoned John Hollins a few years back...and I mean a few. He was Chelsea manager at the time. I phoned Chelsea football club and just asked for him. They said...Who's calling and said. Oh sorry...it's his accountant.
Next thing I know I am speaking tactics for the game with John Hollins
Anyway...be confident and you can sneak under the radar. |
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
|
|